We want you to feel as safe and comfortable as possible. We are driven by the philosophy that achieving a safer experience online is accomplished through collaboration between us, our users, our communities, governments and law enforcement. For you to be able to do your part to personalize and control your ASKfm experience, we provide you with easy tools – features, like the ones outlined here – that allow you to make the best possible choices for yourselves as you spend time asking and answering questions on ASKfm.
The guide below is designed to explain how to find and use the safety and privacy tools available on ASKfm today.
Here is an overview of what these features allow you to control on ASKfm:
- Whether you want to receive questions from users who wish to remain anonymous.
- Who can send you questions on the service. You can view and manage your blocklist in your Settings page. If individuals are on the blocklist, they can’t contact you on ASKfm.
- Email notifications and communications from ASKfm letting you know when a question is waiting for you, someone has “liked” your post or other relevant information about your ASKfm communication.
Let’s take a closer look at our key safety controls and features:
Allow or block anonymous questions
On ASKfm you have the option to (1) ask questions to other users while being anonymous and (2) receive anonymous questions from others (those who have chosen to post their questions anonymously).
Anonymity can be a useful and fun feature on ASKfm. However, you always have the option to ask questions either as yourself with your public ID, or anonymously. You do not have to ask questions anonymously.
You also have the choice to never receive a single anonymous question while on ASKfm.
To block all anonymous questions, go to your Settings, and then click on Profile. From there, uncheck “Do not allow anonymous questions”.
Blocking specific users from asking you questions
You can block other users from sending you questions – anonymous or not – by clicking the “More” button or three dots, then clicking the Block button on their profile page. Blocked users are never allowed to ask you questions again. You can see who you have blocked, and also un-block users, by viewing your Blocked list in your Profile Settings.
You can also block a user (anonymous or not) from your inbox by clicking on the three dots to the right of question, or swiping the question left and clicking on the flag, and then selecting Block User.
We will block the user from sending you questions in the future.
Controlling public visibility on ASKfm
ASKfm is a public space for people to communicate, which means all content posted on ASKfm can be seen by the public. All users and visitors of the site can view your posts, and your posts can also be searched for in search engines, such as Google or Bing. This means that if there is any information you do not want the entire world to see, you should be careful about posting it in a question or answer!
If you have published answers by mistake, they can be deleted from your profile by clicking the X in the top right hand corner of the answer, or the clicking on the three dots and selecting delete.
Controlling which questions from other users appear on your profile
Only you have the right to decide which questions appear on your public profile. Questions from other ASKfm users only show up on your profile when you actually answer the question they ask. If you do not answer, these questions do not appear on your profile – ever. And remember, you can always block specific users and anonymous questions, any time.
How to report abuse
How we handle reports of abuse
Both ASKfm users (those who have created an ASKfm profile and are logged in) and (those who are visiting the site without being logged in) are able to report offensive or unacceptable posts, at any time. Reported posts will be reviewed within 24 hours by our moderation team.
After you submit a report, we will investigate, determine whether the content should be removed and take necessary action. These actions can include removing the content, suspending the user who posted it, or even sending information to law enforcement when warranted. Please be assured that all reports are confidential. The people posting the content you have reported will never know who flagged their content for removal.
Sharing your content
Users are able to share your answers to their alternate social networks (such as Facebook or Twitter) directly from your posts. You can choose to opt-out of this at any time by going to Settings and your Account or Profile page, and unchecking “Allow other users to share my posts”.
Quick Reminders for Using ASKfm
To ensure the best experience possible while on ASKfm, please always keep the following in mind:
- Take advantage of our privacy settings to manage who can see what you post and block unwanted attention.
- If you see or are subject to offensive or abusive content – let us know! We need our user community to help us identify and remove this kind of behavior. Please use the reporting features to make us aware of any such content straight away so we can take appropriate action, such as sending a warning to the user or suspending the user’s account.
- The choice to be anonymous on ASKfm is yours. Please take time to learn and understand the tools and features on ASKfm so you can have the best experience possible. Remember, you do not have to send or receive anonymous questions to connect, engage and have fun with your friends on ASKfm.